Gasoline tax exemption companies under Diplomatic tax exemption

Gasoline tax exemption companies – Congress passed the Foreign Missions Act, 22 U.S.C. 4301-4316, in the year 1982. As per the Act, U.S Department of State announced that eligible companies can now apply for gas tax exemptions. Diplomatic tax exemptions helps to claim the gasoline tax exempt for certain companies that abide the regulations and criteria.

Gasoline tax exemption companies


Not all foreign missions are eligible for this exemption. Those eligible companies should apply to get the gasoline tax exemption card. Then you can apply to file exemption for gasoline tax.

  • Amoco/BP:  Only for Mission/Organization Accounts
  • Chevron
  • Circle K
  • Conoco
  • Exxon/Mobil
  • Getty Oil
  • Gulf
  • Marathon Ashland Petroleum LLC
  • Phillips 66
  • Shell:  Tax exemption only authorized for the applicant’s state of residence (if assigned to Washington DC – exemption available in DC, MD, and VA)
  • Speedway Super America
  • Sunoco
  • Texaco
  • Ultra Mar Diamond  Unocal Oil Company /Union 76

For more information on tax matters, read general tax help articles.

Please follow and like us: